FiberArtCafe + Fairy Yarnmother

A Blog about Knitting and Fiber Art

Raise your hand if you love paperwork

Posted by Fairy Yarnmother on June 3, 2009

sorry I haven’t been posting for a while, lots of things happening, all having to do with filling out paperwork and taking care of a sick puppy. I’m happy to say that my life is starting to get back to normal and I can get back to knittting. I’ve got lots of ideas about my next project! I also picked up a bulky knitting machine on ebay. that brings the grand total to 6…. oh man, I’ve got 6 knitting machines now. Well, I wrote somewhere in a bio that once you have one machine, you soon learn that one is not enough. The bulky or chunky as the Brits call it, can handle thicker yarns that you would use handknitting, so that’s the only machine that comes close to imitating hand knitting. Hope that makes sense to you. It’s a Brother BK151. I got the ribber and the stand for it in the same auction. It looks clean but I haven’t had a chance to set it up yet. it doesn’t have any of the fancy automatic stitches. By that I mean that it’s the basic machine without a patterning device, you have to hand manipulate all of the needles yourself. I’ve been wanting a bulky for awhile, but the prices were too high on the more modern ones. I’ve spent so much on my electronic machines that I couldn’t justify the cost for a 170 or a 270. This one will suit me fine.

Leave a Reply

 
