FiberArtCafe + Fairy Yarnmother

A Blog about Knitting and Fiber Art

Computers…. make excellent door stops

Posted by Fairy Yarnmother on November 13, 2008

man-screaming-at-computer-g Ahhhhhhharghhh….. This is how I feel.  I thank the photographer for taking this photo that lets me  show you how it feels to be frustrated with your computer.  (photo from http://www.virginmedia.com/images/man-screaming-at-computer-g.jpg)

My company sent me off a new computer this week.  It was very nice of them.  She’s a pretty thing (silver) and I’m grateful for her (very fast), but I wish I could have kept my old one.  See, I’m only working for my company until the next round of regulatory reports are out and then I’m free!  (free to try to make my business work full time, and really…. I can’t wait. )  It’s taken so long to get the new computer to the point where all of my files work with all of the updated software that I’m way behind in my work.  I’ve got to send the old one back for refurbishing, but I’m holding onto it for a bit until I know I can get into all of the work sites I need.  See, I’ve been down this road before, this is my 5th round of computer replacements.  The technology changes so fast that you have to keep replacing them so you can keep up with what the clients have.  So every 2 years or so I get a new computer and because of all of the firewalls and strict security it’s painful to switch.  So that’s where I am right now.  Still trying to get things straightened out so I can finish up my work for this week.  The good news is that this little baby is lighter to carry and my company sent out a really cool case for her. That will be nice when I have to travel for my job.

I’ll get used to her soon.  She’s got a nice keyboard, so……. springy.  Hmmmm, could just be clean.  :)

Well, I haven’t done any fiber work (because of the computer switch), so I’ll post some workshop photos I took earlier.  I’m in a knitting machine guild that wanted to see everyone’ssetup.  So, here’s where I design patterns and set up knitting machines.  I’ve also got a sewing machine area with fold out desks to make your working space bigger.  Remember this was taken a while back.  I’ve changed it around a bit.

al-johnsons-goat-in-fish-creek

Couldn’t put in the workshop photos I told you about.  I was looking at them and they’re too messy!  So I’m going for  entertainment value instead, here’s the goats up on top of the roof of the Norwegian resturant, Al Johnson’s up in Sister’s Bay.  Jim and I went camping up at Pennesula State Park  in Fish Creek in October.

Leave a Reply

 
