FiberArtCafe + Fairy Yarnmother

A Blog about Knitting and Fiber Art

Hello world!

Posted by Fairy Yarnmother on October 4, 2008

Hi World,

I’m a first time blogger, so please be patient with me.  Don’t know what I’m doing yet, but I will figure it out and try to write entertaining posts for you to read.  

I’d like to use this web as a journal and write down things as they come to me.  See, I started a craft business a few years ago and from what I’ve observed, blogs compliment craft businesses.  That’s not to say that all I want to do is sell to who ever wanders here.  No, it’s more that there is a story behind each thing you make and the stories get lost on the selling sites, Ebay and Etsy, etc.  It’s not the right place to tell a story of how you developed the item.  Putting something out there for someone to buy is a little like selling a  tiny piece of your soul.  It sort of goes along with the item you sold, so I’d like to use this blog to grow new little bits of soul to keep mine complete.  Make sense?  hope so. 

Here’s what I’m working on now:

haven’t figured out how to put a photo in, so here’s a link to my flickr page  http://www.flickr.com/photos/fiberchai/

It’s a pair of socks being made for Fiberwood Studio using my hand painted sock blanks. 

My finished socks
My finished socks

I was very happy how they turned out.   Here’s some more photos.

Here you can see the sock blank I used.
Here you can see the sock blank I used.

exciting huh???  I saved the last of the blank for the heel, it’s purple.  I’ve been trying to figure out how to put colors together for the blanks so that the socks would be interesting.  Have to say that knitting the sock was a joy.  It was fun to see how it turned out. 

Bye for now, 
Susan
Leave a Reply

 
